BELMAS encourages the fullest engagement of members in the study and practice of educational leadership, management and administration and recognises significant contributions through a number of annual awards. These awards are presented at the annual conference.

Doctoral Thesis Award 2018 - now closed

2017 Winner: Susan Cousin, 'System Leadership: Are System Leaders in the English Education System Leaders of a Profession or Instruments of Government'

 Conference 2017-490

Awarded to the individual whose thesis is deemed by the Selection Panel to have made the most important contribution to our understanding of educational leadership and/or management and/or policy.

Learn more > 


Distinguished Service Award - now closed

2017 Winner: Mike Bottery, Professor Emeritus, University of Hull

 Conference 2017-593

Awarded to members who have made a unique contribution to the Society's aims over the course of their career. Candidates may be nominated by individuals, a school or college or a department of education.

Learn more >


Reflective Practice Award - nominations now closed

2017 Winner: Paul Campbell, Primary Teacher, Deputy Head of Department, St. Paul's School

Conference 2017-504

Awarded to those in leadership roles in schools, colleges and universities who are able to demonstrate leadership of an innovation in an educational setting which has made a significant contribution to the development of an organisation.

Learn more >


EMAL Best Paper Award

2017 Winner: Mark Boylan, Enabling adaptive system leadership: Teachers leading professional development First Published 17 Oct 2016.

Conference 2017-476

Awarded by the editorial board of the journal Educational Management, Administration & Leadership (EMAL) to the writer(s) of the best papers by a new contributor to the journal.


MIE Best Paper Award

2017 Winner: Simon Dowling, Professional development and the Teaching Schools experiment in England: Leadership challenges in an alliance’s first year First Published December 29, 2015.

 Conference 2017-480

Awarded by the editorial board of the journal Management in Education (MiE) to the writer(s) of the best papers by a new contributor to the journal.


Industry Twitter