Bursaries & Grants

About our Awards, Bursaries & Grants

BELMAS offers a range of Awards, Bursaries, Grants and additional support exclusively to its members. These range from Doctoral Bursaries to Hardship Support for those affected by redundancy or displacement due to war, persecution or natural disaster.

Click on the buttons below to find out more about each area of support, dates and deadlines and how to apply.




Membership Support Fund

Member Hardship Policy

Who are the ABG Committee?

The Awards, Bursaries & Grants (ABG) Committee is a sub-committee of the BELMAS Board (Council) and made up of three Trustees and are operationally supported by the Membership Engagement Manager (Deputy Executive Officer).

The ABG are delegated to ensure the fair and transparent process of all Awards, Bursaries & Grants and have the ability to form awarding sub-panels made up of members.

Current members of the ABG are:

  • Dr Lizana Oberholzer (Chair)
  • Dr Deb Outhwaite
  • Dr Berni Moreno

Members are selected annually from and amongst the Trustee Board with each Trustee sitting on at least one BELMAS sub-committee.

ABG Sub-Panels: Register Your Interest

To ensure that we maintain our membership-led identity we always look to involve members in our decision-making; and this doesn’t stop at our ABG!

We are currently recruiting for sub-panel members for all of our Awards, Bursaries and Grants, excluding the Distinguished Service Award (DSA) and the BELMAS Best Blog which are determined by the DSA Advisory Board and the Blog Editorial Team respectfully.

To register your interest in one or more of these panels, please complete the form by clicking on the button below.