Latest News

Back to News

New BELMAS Chair and Vice Chairs Appointed

BELMAS is delighted to announce that as of 1st September 2023, Dr Deb Outhwaite will become Chair of BELMAS stepping up from her previous role as Vice-Chair.  Deb brings a wealth of experience to the role, not just through a BELMAS lens, but in her role as CEO at Developing Teachers, School and Academies (DTSA) and as an EdD Supervisor for the University of Liverpool.

Dr Fiona Creaby also returns in her role as Vice-Chair (Finance & Resource) having navigated BELMAS through a difficult period of growth and change as Honorary Treasurer.

BELMAS also welcomes two Vice-Chairs into the newly established roles under the CIO Conversion passed at the AGM. We welcome Dr Jan Hetherington (Vice-Chair EDI) and Dr Denise Mifsud (Vice-Chair Conference & Events).

We wish you all a huge congratulations on your new roles.


As part of these changes, we want to thank the outgoing Chair Ian Potter for all his time, commitment, work and passion – particularly in internationalising the organisation building strong relationships with IEAL-J, UCEA and others around the globe.

We also thank Professor Steve Courtney who has stepped down from the Board having finished his term of office, particularly for his work on the Conference Committee, and to Dr Catherine Simon who steps away from the Board as a previously co-opted member overseeing the Journal Co-ordination and Governance changes that have enabled our move to a CIO and more recently her work on the launch of the newly established Awards, Bursaries and Grants Committee.

Finally, while Dr Victoria Showunmi remains on the Board, we thank her for the years of tireless work on the BELMAS Conference as the outgoing Conference Chair. She has overseen significant changes that has resulted in BELMAS breaking even on the conference for the first time. Victoria remains with BELMAS on the new Equality, Diversity and Inclusion sub-committee that collectively will also take on responsibilities for the delivery of the international strategy.

You can find out more about the Board of Trustees, here.